This is because you are not the Presenter. You can check if you are Presenter in the User List if there is an icon of a blue presentation board on the left of your name. As Presenter, you can also allow all participants to use the annotations tools at the same time by selecting the Multi-User option.
See attached screenshot to help point you in the right direction.

